Providing A Skilled Defense To DUI Charges Throughout Chicago
If you have been charged with a DUI in Chicago, or in the surrounding Illinois suburbs, contact The Law Offices of Steven R. Roach. We provide effective, experienced and aggressive criminal defense services on behalf of clients charged with misdemeanor or felony DUI.
We handle the criminal charges, as well as DMV/Secretary of State driver’s license hearings (also called Secretary of State hearings). We have extensive experience representing all drivers, including adults, juveniles and commercial drivers.
If you have been arrested for drunk driving and need to speak with an attorney, we encourage you to call one of our three convenient locations: Chicago at 312-421-8820; Schaumburg at 847-685-6000; Wheaton at 630-573-8500. You may also contact us online.
What You Can Expect From Us During Your DUI Defense Case
If you retain our firm to handle your DUI, we will aggressively pursue results and hold the prosecution to its burden of proof. We ask these and other vital questions on your behalf:
- Did the police have a valid basis to stop your vehicle?
- Did the police have a valid basis to make an arrest?
- Were any field sobriety test properly administered?
- Were you properly advised of your rights, including your right to refuse testing?
- Was your alcohol breath test administered properly?
- Was the machine calibrated and used properly?
- Is there a legal or scientific basis to win your case?
Penalties For First-Time DUI Convictions
Recent changes to Illinois’ DUI laws have resulted in harsher penalties for first-time DUI offenders. While the judge has some discretion in sentencing options, the following penalties apply:
- License suspension: first time offenders receive a mandatory 6 months driver license suspension; 12 months if you refused to blow into a breathalyzer
- Fines: up to $2,500 for a misdemeanor and up to $25,000 for a felony
- Jail/prison: anywhere from no jail time to as much as 1 year in jail for a misdemeanor; anywhere from 1-3 years in prison for a felony DUI conviction
- Community service: typically up to 100 hours
- DUI hardship license: First-time DUI offenders are eligible for a DUI hardship license 31 days after the suspension of their license. If they are granted a hardship license, they must participate in either a breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID) and possibly Secure Continuous Remote Alcohol Monitor (SCRAM) program.
Please note, participation in either the BAIID or SCRAM program will result in additional costs and involve monitoring a person’s blood alcohol content either around the clock or before and while driving.
Arrested On Criminal Charges? Contact Us.
If you need experienced legal representation from a seasoned and passionate advocate, contact us at one of our three convenient locations: Chicago at 312-421-8820; Schaumburg at 847-685-6000; Wheaton at 630-573-8500. You are also welcome to email us.